homeparissaint germain des prés
A neighborhood with an artistic soul

Saint Germain des Pres neighborhood has always had a special charm whose mystery never stopped to amaze and inspire many artists.

Located on the Left Bank of Paris, Saint Germain des Pres acquired his soul through the power of attraction on the intellectuals since the seventeenth century. The latter, when they went to Saint-Germain, have left the imprint of their talent. The Encyclopedists met at Café Landell or at Procope, as the future revolutionary Marat, Danton, Guillotin who lived in the neighborhood.

After World War II, Saint Germain des Prés has become the Mecca of Parisian intellectual and cultural life. Philosophers, writers, actors and musicians mingled in clubs and pubs, where the existentialist philosophy coexists with American jazz. In the cellars of the Rue de Rennes, which Boris Vian was used to come.

Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, the iconic singer Juliette Greco or filmmakers like Jean-Luc Godard and Francois Truffaut but also poets like Jacques Prévert and artists such as Giacometti, were regulars in Saint Germain des Pres.

Today's artists are still hanging around, enjoying the ambience of the cafe Les Deux Magots or Café de Flore. At the brewery "Lipp" journalists, actors and politicians meet just as François Mitterrand.


WiFi
bookings online
  • arrival
  •  
  • departure
  •  
  •  
  • arrival
  • departure
  • flexible dates
  • nights
  • rooms
  • adults
  • children (<12)
© Hotel Montalembert Paris3 rue de Montalembert75007 ParisFrance T +33 (0)1 45 49 68 68
Follow us on:
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube
Flickr

Homeparissaint-germain-des-prés
Un quartier à l'âme d'artiste

Saint-Germain-des-Prés est depuis toujours un quartier au charme particulier dont le mystère ne cesse d'étonner et inspirer de nombreux artistes.
Situé sur le Rive Gauche de la Seine, Saint Germain des Prés a acquis son âme grâce au pouvoir d'attraction qu'il a exercé sur les intellectuels depuis le xviie siècle. Ces derniers, dès lors qu'ils passaient à Saint-Germain, y ont laissé l'empreinte de leur talent. Les Encyclopédistes se réunissaient au café Landelle ou au Procope, de même les futurs révolutionnaires Marat, Danton, Guillotin qui habitaient le quartier.

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le quartier de Saint-Germain-des-Prés est devenu un haut lieu de la vie intellectuelle et culturelle parisienne. Philosophes, auteurs, acteurs et musiciens se sont mélangés dans les clubs et les brasseries, où la philosophie existentialiste cohabite avec le jazz américain, dans les caves de la rue de Rennes, que fréquentait notamment Boris Vian.

Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, la chanteuse emblématique Juliette Gréco ou des cinéastes tels que Jean-Luc Godard et François Truffaut mais aussi des poètes comme Jacques Prévert et des artistes comme Giacometti, étaient des habitués du quartier Saint Germain des Prés.

Aujourd'hui les artistes y flânent toujours, appréciant l'ambiance du café Les Deux Magots ou du Café de Flore. À la brasserie "Lipp" se réunissent les journalistes, les acteurs en vue et les hommes politiques comme le faisait François Mitterrand.

WiFi
Réservations OnLine
  • arrivée
  •  
  • départ
  •  
  •  
  • arrivée
  • départ
  • dates flexibles
  • nuits
  • chambres
  • adultes
  • enfants (<12)
© Hôtel Montalembert Paris3 rue de Montalembert75007 ParisFrance T +33 (0)1 45 49 68 68
Suivez-nous sur:
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube
Flickr